* Site use note: Information colored in brick red links to additional sites, documents or email.

Mission to promote the development of new honors programs, to support existing honors programs, and to encourage student presentations and publication.


The Texas Community College Student Day booklet is available in PDF form here.

Materials from the National Collegiate Honors Council available here.

The Great Plains Regional Conference will be held in the Spring of 2007 at Oklahoma City University.

GCIHC Scholarship Applications to Sam Houston State University and Lamar University Honors Programs.
Due date for SHSU Scholarship April 7th. 


Next Meeting: Fall Conference at Cy Fair College September 29, 2006
 - For details contact Jamili Omar
National Collegiate Honors Council in Philadelphia, PA, November 15-19, 2006

Past Meetings:
    GCIHC Spring Retreat 2006 Agenda, Minutes, Registration Form, Retreat Program, City Exploration Description, City Exploration Registration
    NCHC St. Louis October 2005 Agenda
    GCIHC Spring Retreat 2005 Minutes


Articles for the GCIHC Annual Journal, E Pluribus Unum, must be screened by each campus committee and forwarded to the GCIHC Publications Committee on or before June 1st

GCIHC Members

Alvin Community College
Kevin Jefferies
3110 Mustang Road
Alvin, TX 77511
Phone: 281/756-3736     Fax: 281/756-3880
E-Mail: KJefferies@alvincollege.edu

Brazosport College
Sandra Baker
Honors Program Director
500 College Drive Box 4
Lake Jackson, TX 77566
Phone: 979/230-3279     Fax: 979/230-3465
E-mail: Sandra.Baker@brazosport.edu

Houston Community College System
Dr. Maria Straus 
3100 Main
Houston, TX 77002
Email: maria.straus@hccs.edu

Houston Community College - Central
Gloria Yampey-Jorg
Honors Program Director
3517 Austin MC 1229
Houston, TX 77004
Phone: 713/718-6672    Fax: 713/718-6673

Houston Community College - Northwest
Kent McGaughy
Honors Program Director
901 Yorkchester MC-1396
Houston, TX 77084
Phone: 713/718-5741    Fax: 713/718-5786
Email: kent.mcgaughy@hccs.edu

Houston Community College - Northeast
Joe McDade   
Honors Program Director
410 Northline Mall - MC 1433
Houston, TX 77022
Phone: 713/718-8328    Fax: 713/718-1441
Email: joseph.mcdade@hccs.edu

Houston Community College - Southeast
Michelle Novak
Honors Program Director
6815 Rustic - MC1638
Houston, TX 77087
Phone: 713/718-7143    Fax: 713/718-7312
Email: michelle.novak@hccs.edu

Houston Community College - Southwest
Heidi M. Lange
10141 Cash Road - MC 1585B
Stafford, TX 77477
Phone: 713/553-8837    Fax: 713/718-7779
Email: heidi.lange@hccs.edu

Lee College
John Britt
Honors Program Coordinator
Lee College
P.O. Box 818
Baytown, TX 77522-0818
Phone: 281/425-3675
E-mail: jbritt@lee.edu

North Harris Montgomery Community College District (NHMCCD)
North Harris College
Sandy Deabler
Honors Program Director
2700 W.W. Thorne Dr.
Houston, TX  77073
Phone: 281/618-5528    Fax: 281/618-5477
Email: Sandy.Deabler@nhmccd.edu

Shae Adkins
North Harris College
2700 W.W. Thorne Dr.
Houston, TX 77073   
Phone: (281) 7657937

Cy-Fair Community College
Jamili Omar
Honors Program Director
Cy-Fair Community College
9191 Barker Cypress Road
Cypress, TX 77433
Phone: 281/290-5928
E-mail: jamili.omar@nhmccd.edu

Kingwood College
Dr. David W. Putz
Honors Program Director
Kingwood College
20000 Kingwood Drive
Kingwood, TX 77339
Phone: 281/312-1710     Fax: 281/312-1445
E-mail: david.w.putz@nhmccd.edu

Montgomery College
Betsy Powers
Honors Program Co-Director
Montgomery College
3200 College Park Drive
Conroe, TX 77384
Phone: 936/273-7036
E-mail: betsy.powers@nhmccd.edu

Dr. Kathleen Monahan
Honors Program Co-Director
Montgomery College
3200 College Park Drive
Conroe, TX 77384
Phone: 936/273-7327
E-mail: kathleen.monahan@nhmccd.edu

Tomball College
Alanna M. Tynes
Honors Program Director
Tomball College
30555 Tomball Parkway
Tomball, TX 77375
Phone: 281/357-3658
E-mail: alanna.m.tynes@nhmccd.edu

San Jacinto College District
San Jacinto College
Julia Jay
Honors Program Director
San Jacinto College Central
8060 Spencer Highway
Pasadena, TX 77571
Phone: 281/476-1501     Fax: 281/476-1892
E-mail: julia.jay@sjcd.edu

San Jacinto College South
Jennifer Tate
Honors Program Director
San Jacinto College South
13735 Beamer Road
Houston, TX 77089-6099
Phone: 281/484-1900 x 3235
Fax: 281/929-4615
E-mail: jennifer.tate@sjcd.edu

Regional Community Colleges Affiliated with GCIHC

Blinn College
Dr. John Jenkin
Honors Program Director
Blinn College
Brenham Campus
902 College Ave
Brenham, TX 77833
E-mail: jjenkin@blinn.edu

Regional Universities who Collaborate with GCIHC

Angelo State University
Nick Flynn
Honors Program Director
Angelo State University
ASU Station #10913
San Angelo, TX 76909
Phone: 325/942-2716     Fax: 325/942-2722
E-mail: nick.flynn@angelo.edu

Lamar University
Dr. Donna Birdwell
Honors Program Director
Lamar University
P.O. Box 10968
Beaumont, TX 77710
Phone: 409/880-8658     Fax: 409/880-2325
E-mail: donna.birdwell@lamar.edu

Sam Houston State University
Dr. Gene Young
Director of Honors Program
Honors Program
Sam Houston State University
Huntsville, TX 77341-2120
Phone: (936) 294-1477 Fax: 936/294-1090
E-mail: young@shsu.edu

St. Mary's University
Dr. Daniel Rigney
Honors Program Director
Box 47
St. Mary's University
One Camino Santa Maria
San Antonio, TX 78228-8503
Phone: 210/436-3201     Fax: 210/436-3500
E-mail: drigney@stmarytx.edu